Many diet products contain the natural sweetener erythritol. However, it is known as a sugar alcohol because of its chemical structure being similar to that of alcohol however from all my research I have yet to find anything to state that it contains alcohol. Is this ok to consume or is it best to stay away from it?

All kinds of packed food with the exception of meat, fat and their extracts,
are permissible for a Muslim, even if he doubts that its ingredients might
contain what is forbidden for him or even if he doubts that the cook
-whosoever he may be- had touched it with wetness. It is not obligatory on
him to inquire about its ingredients to ensure that it does not contain
anything that is forbidden to him.
But still precaution is better.